Built in 1882 for Doctor Darcy Dean, this home has double and triple brick walls and boasts a dry stone cellar, central passage with frosted glass windows, high ceilings throughout, and a three quarter part-return verandah. Substantially refurbished in 2011 with a new bathroom, laundry and toilet, walk-in shower recess, new kitchen, flooring, floor coverings and repainting. This refurbishment is of great benefit to this turn of the century quality homestead.
Formal dining room with open fireplace, lounge with wall air conditioner and another open fireplace, and French doors to the verandah giving patient access to the former consulting rooms. Kitchen with benchtop hotplates, rear double carport, grove of orange trees, well fenced rear yard suitable for boat/van/trailers, external workshop (formally the original laundry), woodshed and neat, low-maintenance garden. A tastefully refurbished quality home.
The block is 1438m2 and the property has historic connections to the local St. Joseph's Church Parish and many of the town's luminary citizens. Purchased by the Bishop of Ballarat, Patrick Spain and Michael Costello in 1888. The property was used as the presbytery convent for the teaching nuns. In 1913 the Diocese of Ballarat purchased the property. In 1930 Joseph and Mary Fanning occupied the home. They were large landholders and business owners with the local chaff cutting business and a cordial factory. Desmond Fanning purchased the home in 1947 with this ownership continuing to the current time.
Just a two minute walk to the Main Street shops, facilities, schools and Avoca River. Supportive and friendly local community with good infrastructure including hospital, doctor, excellent Prep to 12 college, retail and service businesses including fuel, two grocers, police and ambulance. Inspect by appointment. 3D Virtual tour and floorplan available.
- Evaporative Cooling
- Secure Parking
- Built-in Wardrobes
- Water Tank